Round Rd5 - Mildenhall Race Report

Nora Round 5 – Mildenhall

Let’s call it a “George ‘’ Day

George Day overcame an 18 point deficit to Mark McLernon at the start of the day to storm through to lead the Nora MX Pro Championship at a sundrenched Mildenhall in Suffolk.

118 riders across all groups and their entourages travelled the width and depth of the UK for Nora’s first ever visit to Mildenhall’s top class facilities. Which proved to be an incident free ,tightly run event by Nora,s Slick staff.

But first off it was another “Day”, in younger brother Tom who set the fastest lap in qualifying with an impressive time of 1 min 41.8 secs. 2nd fastest was brother George.

Race 1 and it was George Day with the hole shot and he soon built up a comfortable lead and cruised to victory. The battle for 2nd saw Paul Winrow in a rare appearance, behind Dafydd Davies for much of the race, before using his wise head to show the youngster his class in the latter stages to grab 2nd.

On to race 2 and it was Scotland’s U21 star Murray Graham who started on fire with his first hole shot of the year. Murray was good for his lead but was being chased down by both Day brothers, with George finding his way through to take the win by 8.3 secs over Murray with Tom 2.4 secs further back in 3rd.

Race 3 and time for “sand king” Carl Bunce to make his mark. Bunce left all in his wake as he built up and kept a massive lead, winning the race by 23.1 secs over an on form Oli Sansom in 2nd place. Murray Graham a strong third and a well deserved 2nd place overall on the day for him.

No doubt whose day it was though, George day with two great wins and a 4th. Overhauling in the Championship a below par Mark McLernon who posted for him a disappointing 5th, 6th and 7th.

1st George Day (1,1,4), 2nd Murray Graham (4,2,3), 3rd Carl Bunce (5,12,1)

Pro Am – 1st Tom Day, 2nd Alex Bethell, 3rd Davino Bruneel

Championship standings;

1st George Day 285, 2nd Mark McLernon 278, 3rd Dafydd Davies 237, 4th Oli Sansom 236

Elsewhere, in the Nora groups;

Mister 100% in the 100cc Class Luke Berlyn, finally came tumbling down “literally” and lost his first race of the season as a nasty kicker in race 1 through him from his bike whilst comfortably leading at the start of lap 2. He then recovered and showed his grit by recovering from dead last to get back to a 2nd place finish. No further hiccups as he won races 2 and 3, each time over Robbie Wood.

The 250cc Group looks like a 3 way battle for the British Championship between Catrin Davies, Zak Orchard and Josh Birch. So whose day would it be ?

In qualifying it was Zak who was quickest, but by the most slender of margins (0.01 secs) over Josh!

So to the racing, and with Zak taking the first two wins each time over Josh, the day looked to be heading his way. But then disaster in race 3 as his tyre came off its rim early on taking him down to 6th. Josh was more than happy to mop up and crown off a good performance with the overall after two 2nds and a first.

One to watch as we enter round 6, as just 5 points now separate the top 3 riders in the Championship standings. (Josh 453, Zak 450, Catrin 448).

Ayrton Knowles was showing blistering hole shot form in the Clubman Elite class with three of them! Race 1 went to Ayrton by 8.2 secs, but then it was all change in race 2 as “King of the Enduros” Rhyds Owen overtook Ayrton on the last lap to snatch the win by 0.7 secs. He then followed this by winning the last race, and take the win on the day.

Normal service in the Masters “A” as Ed Davies took the 3 wins. The only real threat to Ed was Greg Fisher who lead for a few laps in race 2. Ed’s three hole shots also earned him 3 sets of the Rip n Roll goggles.

Geoff Otway kept his good run going in the Masters Support Class. Fastest in qualifying and 3 race wins were his days work.

In the Novice class it was 2017 club newcomer Michael Haydon’s day. With 3 hole shots, 1 win and 2 seconds, he took the overall on the day.


Clubman Overall: 1 Rhyds Owen (3,1,1), 2 Ayrton Knowles (1,2,3), 3 Lestyn Rowlands (5,4,2).

Clubman sub class winner: Harry Carmichael

Masters “A”: 1 Ed Davies (1,1,1), 2 Greg Fisher (2,2,3), 3 Ben Morgan (6,3,2)

250cc Overall: 1 Josh Birch (2,2,1), Zak Orchard (1,1,6), George Oliver (3,3,2)

250cc Standard Winner: Jack Evans.

Adult Novices: 1 Michael Haydon (1,2,2), 2 Joe Sharp (2,3,1), 3 Georgia Lent (3,4,11).

Masters Support: 1 Geoff Otway (1,1,1), 2 Mark Smith (2,2,4), 3 David Marriott (4,3,2).

100cc Overall: 1 Luke Berlyn (2,1,1), 2 Robbie Wood (1,2,2), 3 Tom Bainbridge (3,4,4).

100cc Sub class winner: Alfie North.

50cc Sub class winner: Olivia Dennis.

Picture - John Cooke

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic