Nora-Mx Rd2 Race Report

Rich pickings for Orchard and Owen at Grittingham

The second round of the Nora MX series moved with the sunshine to the perfectly prepared track at Grittingham in Wiltshire, and again an impressive entry of over 150 riders meant the club put its marker down as Europe’s premier MX club.

First out the Masters Support / Novice group and the successful trial of a split gate within the race for these two groups.

In the Masters Support it was Geoff Otway who was the fastest qualifier (2min 14secs) but he was outshone in all 3 races by an in form Ray Walker who not content with 3 hole shots, took the 3 race wins too! Geoff had to settle for 3 second places.

In the Novices it was Scott Berlyn who was fasted in qualifying. He did not manage any hole shots but would be happy with the 3 race wins that followed.

Next the 250’s, and with Josh Birch the fastest qualifier in 2 mins 11 secs it certainly looked like he had his mojo back! But his glory was short lived as Penzance’s Zak Orchard on his newly purchased Paul Holmes bike dominated events with two hole shots and three comfortable race wins with his largest winning margin 12.9 secs in race 2 over a strong performance by Shelley Smart in 2nd.

On to the performance of the day from Rhyds Owen in the highly competitive Clubman / Elite class. Greg Thynne qualified quickest in 2 mins 4 secs over Sam Norris. Rhyds Owen then showed he’s beginning to get the hang of the unfamiliar MX scene with three perfect hole shots and three comfortable wins leading from start to finish, each time with Greg in 2nd.

The largest group of the day was the fast and furious Pro/ Pro Am class with a field of 33 of the best riders you will find on any MX track.

Club Champion George Callaway looked to bounce back from his disappointments from round 1 and set the marker very high, being the only rider in qualifying to break the 2 minute barrier with a lap of 1 min 59.6 secs. So would it be George’s day ? In short…No, albeit he was blistering in race 1, taking the hole shot and a win over Carl Bunce by 0.7 secs. Bike problems in race 2 ended Callaway’s day.

Race 2 and with Harry Walker getting his first hole shot at pro level and setting the early pace with Carl Bunce, this turned in to the race of the day. Bunce took the lead and led Walker and Mark McLernon for much of the race before McLernon made his move to take the lead and win. However, with Bunce looking a certain second Walker made his move on the last corner of the race to grab two places and a well deserved 2nd place. The best of his Pro career so far

Race 3 and a clash of 6 bikes on the first corner, gave the opening to George Day to take the race by the scruff of the neck and build a commanding lead to win by 20.8 seconds over Bunce, with Mclernon, Walker and Davies all with one second at the end.

Three different race winners certainly made this pro class a thrill to watch.

Three straight wins and the fastest lap in qualifying in the 100cc class were the days work for Luke Berlyn, keeping his 100% winning start to the season going. His closest rival Robbie Wood was king of the hole shots though with a full house of three. Unfortunately for Robbie, he had to settle for 3 second place finishes in the races.

The final group and Ed Davies again showed his top quality with three race wins to keep his 100% winning run going. Ed never looked troubled and had winning margins ranging from 18 seconds to just over 33 seconds.

What a brilliant dayfor all the racers , the seasons now truly in flow!

Next the first visit to Culham in Oxfordshire since 2015 on 7th May.

So Get your entries in on time to avoid disappointment or late fee.s !!


Pro Overall: 1 Mark McLernon (3,1,3), 2 Carl Bunce (2,3,2), 3 George Day (5,4,1).

Pro Am sub class winner: Davin Bruneel (12,8,6)

Clubman Elite: 1 Rhyds Owen (1,1,1), 2 Greg Thynne (2,2,2), 3 Aaron Pole (5,4,6).

Clubman sub class winner: Harry Carmichael (9,3,5)

Masters A: 1 Ed Davies (1,1,1), 2 Greg Fisher (3,2,2), 3 Ben Morgan (4,4,3)

250cc Overall: 1 Zak Orchard (1,1,1), 2 Josh Birch (2,10,3), 3 Shelly Smart (6,2,5).

Masters Support: 1 Ray Walker (1,1,1), 2 Geoff Otway (2,2,2), 3 John Hall (3,3,5)

Adult Novices: 1 Scott Berlyn (1,1,1), 2nd Rick Indge (2,2,2), 3 Joe Sharp (6,5,4)

100cc Overall: 1 Luke Berlyn (1,1,1), 2 Robbie Wood (2,2,2), 3 Jago Jackson (3,3,3)

100cc Auto sub class winner: Kieran Marriott (9,7,8)

50cc Sub class winner: Rosie Walker (22,20,20)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic