Fabulous Finale at Foxhills - Nora Round 9

The final round of the year and a return to the superb challenging track at Foxhills.

With many Championships wide open this promised to be a thriller and the full paddock of riders did not disappoint with some brilliant racing to store in our memories.

Sunday morning started off with a soaked track following heavy overnight rain, but that was soon cleared by the end of practise, so race day was on!!

First out and what promised to be the closest Championship finish of the year was the Pro/Pro Am class. This looked to be a two rider fight to the finish between RPG's George Callaway and Luke Cooper, with Callaway entering the round with a slender 14 point lead.

Well this soon changed as disaster struck for Luke in failing to move off the start line in race 1, so disappointingly ended up being towed back to the paddock. To add further misery to his day a disqualification in race 2 ended his Championship hopes.

The title handed to George but first a spectacle of high quality riding from all of the field.

Race 1 saw a hole shot from Callaway over Carl Bunce and Dafydd Davies and that's how they finished. The only other rider in contention was Paul Winrow who made up ground on Dafydd during the middle of the race but this was ended when his rear shock went with two laps to go.

Race 2 and it was time for 17 year o

ld welshman Davies to shine as 2nd in to the first bend behind Brad Frost was followed by taking a commanding lead which he held despite a late surge from Callaway to record his first race win in the Pro class! Unfortunately for Davies a gear box failure late on in race 3 whilst running 3rd and after the hole shot cost him a podium finish.

Normal service was resumed in race 3 as Callaway and Bunce showed brilliant form to take 1st and 2nd. Brad Frost showed strong form all day to grab the final spot on the podium.

On the day, 1st George Callaway (1,2,1), 2nd Carl Bunce (2,4,2), 3rd Brad Frost (5,3,3).

And the Championship winner George Callaway, followed by Carl Bunce.

Next out Masters "A" and Ed Davies continued his domination in the Class with three hole shots, all three fastest laps (the best of which was 1 min 53 secs in race 3) a

nd three comfortable race wins. His largest winning margin being 53 seconds in race 3.

The change round in this group on the day were in the 2nd and 3rd places. With both Ant Barrett and Darren Bridge having problems the podium was completedby Greg Fisher (2,3,3) and Mark Stepney (3,4,6).

Championship winner Ed Davies, followed by Ant Barrett.

On to the "Out the box / master support" class and with Ben Richmond already crowned Champion with a round to spare it was his closest rival Jack Holmes who put on a class performance to show what might have been if he hadn't had a bad round 8 at Cusseys.

Three race wins for Jack and the fastest lap times in each race. The pick of which, 1 min 54 secs in race 3.(5,4,4).

Championship Winner Ben Richmond followed by Jack Holmes.

The Clubman / Elite Group followed, and once again this class displayed the fullest line up of quads and many twists on the track, resulting in three different race winners.

Race 1 and a superb Danny Smith hole shot saw him reach the corner three bike lengths ahead of the next rider! The race was on and the 4 riders of, debutant Thibeau Deprince, Tom Chell, Davino Bruneel and Sam Norris were all in with a shout. It was Tom Chell who took Danny with a third of a lap to go and take the win and deny Danny his first win of the season.

Thibeau Deprince got off to a flying start in race two and built up a good lead. Getting tangled with a back marker stalled his charge and no invitation was required for Championship leader Davino Bruneel to storm through and take the win. Jack Norris showed a return to form in 2nd.

Race 3 and no mistakes this time from Thibeau as he set the fastest lap time of the day of 1 min 54 secs and the win by the largest winning margin of the day of 14 secs over Jack.

On the day: 1st Davino Bruneel (3,1,4), 2nd Tom Chell (1,4,5), 3rd Jack Norris (6,2,2). Championship order the same.

Clubman Championship winner: Iestyn Rowlands

Out 4th, the 250cc class and could Dean Dillon continue with his run of 10 straight race wins and take the title over close rival and friend Ayrton Knowles ? Well, "No" and "Yes" !!

The high jumping Ayrton was well up for this one and showed his determination from the start with the hole shot in race 1 and a quality display to take the win over Dean by 5 seconds.

Race 2 and much the same from Ayrton and an increased winning margin of 17 seconds.

Race 3 and this time a hole shot by Tom Day to add to the mix. Dean soon came through in this one to take the lead before the end of lap 1. There he stayed taking the win over Ayrton by 21 secs.

Ayrton took the overall on the day and with the fastest lap times in each race ended on a high.

On the day: 1st Ayrton Knowles (1,1,2), 2nd Dean Dillon (2,2,1), 3rd Tom Day (3,3,3).

Championship winner: Dean Dillon followed by Ayrton and Tom.

Sub class winners on the day: Scott Irons (250 mods), Reece Swan (150's) and Myles Mott (250 Stds).

Finally, the young pups in the 100cc/50cc class and fresh from his team win at the Great 8 the previous weekend with Josh Birch, it was Alfie Walker who sealed the Championship with three straight wins.

Only a 1 second winning margin over Luke Berlyn in race 1 but he increased this to 14 secs and 22 secs in races 2 and 3. On the day: 1st Alfie Walker (1,1,1), 2nd Luke Berlyn (2,2,2), 3rd Robbie Wood (8,3,3).

Championship winner Alfie Walker followed by Luke.

Sub class winners on the day: Aled Davies (100cc), Frank Marston (50cc), Jago Jackson (125cc Raptor).

They think it's all over ................ It is now! Roll on 2017 !!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic